Drake – Started From the Bottom

Cash Money Records

Cash Money Records

The first single from his new album, “Started From the Bottom” immediately pulls in the ears of the listener. The fresh beat that mixes melodic bleeps and blips that then joins in with a syncopated back beat. The song discusses Drake’s rise to stardom. Through the lyrics, it’s clear the singer wants those who listen to know it wasn’t just he that helped make it happen. It was a team of people close to him. 

He writes on his blog:

Today is the day to begin sharing my newest work with you. This is the first single off of my upcoming album. I feel sometimes that people don’t have enough information about my beginnings and therefore they make up a life story for me that isn’t consistent with actual events. My family and my second family (consisting of the best friends anybody could ever have) all struggled and worked extremely hard to make all this happen. I did not buy my way into this spot and it was the furthest thing from easy to achieve. I am proud of every part of my past and I’m excited for this song to find a place in your life as well.

One thought on “Drake – Started From the Bottom

  1. I can’t say there’s much to the lyrical content but the beat is pretty dope. It’s a nice change from the sound that’s become synonymous with his tracks at this point. I don’t really picture this being a big hit though…

Leave a Reply

