Rude Boy (Music Video) – Rihanna

I first saw this video on Vh1’s Top 20 Video Countdown. I’m not the biggest Rihanna fan but when I saw this video, directed by Melina, I couldn’t help but watch. The flamboyant colors immediately capture you along with the extremely catchy hook. Whenever Rihanna says “want, want, want” or “boom, boom, boom” The words pop out in that pattern behind her. The video is clearly influnced by pop art.

The song itself has old school Rihanna written all over it, taking influence from her Bajan roots in Barbados. And the flashy colors assist the songs island flare; Rihanna even looks like her pre- Good Girl Gone Bad self when she dons a long brown wig for some of the video, but she still keeps it like her current self with the golden spiked leotard. And don’t be fooled by the song’s bright presence; this is the third single from RiRi’s Rated R album and it’s a little naughty. Lyrics like “I like the way you touch me there/I like the way you pull my hair/Baby, if I don’t feel it/I ain’t faking, no no” are matched by Rihanna’s suggestive moves on a lion and her coy winking after the verse.
10 thoughts on “Rude Boy (Music Video) – Rihanna

  1. I was JUST going to post aboutt this!! I love this song, I hate to open the doors to arguments and comparsions, but I like RiRi way better than Beyonce. Her videos are unique and visionary without trying so hard, like Beyonce. Rihanna's her own brand of unique. Beyonce looked like she was going in the Lady Gaga vein of "standout-ness"… Anyway, I love this video. I definitely has a 1990s vibe to it. It's my favorit single from Rated R so far.

  2. Well, I wouldn't say Beyonce is trying to go the ways of Lady Gaga because she's been going towards the so-called "unique" way for a while –ever since Rihanna came out to compete but I totally get what ur saying.

  3. I LOVE this song SO much. The whole rihanna cd is really good, as soon as i popped it in the cd player, rude boy was on replay! The video is cute , it's differnt from her dark colors that she's put it in her three previous videos, hard, russian roulette, and the wait is over. The bright colors really capture your attention and keep you wanting to watch the whole video.

  4. I love Rihanna she is so mysterious, unique,and she has her own style. The video has its own unique style I like the video, but at the same time I agree that the song is catchy and has its own sensual side to it as well.

  5. I also love this song, ever since i first heard it I had to go put it on the ipod…I also love rihanna's style, the video makes you want to watch.

  6. I love Rihanna Wayy More than Beyonce as well. rihanna is just moree unique and is far from a cliche. Rudee Boy is a very hip and vibrant song. Its very catchy as well . . . BOOM BOOM BOOM!

Leave a Reply

